From the future : The Movie theatre

From the Future is a mini-series of posts, depicting how the future me would react to something which was so common before COVID-19 struck us.

It has been countless days… I’ve gathered today, with two of my best friends, to watch Shahrukh’s latest movie in the theatres, first day first show. It has been a really long time since I had last seen a movie in the theatres. I had waited for this, for so long. As I pass through the disinfection tunnel instead of the usual metal detector, I feel weird.

On entering I realize the theatre doesn’t seem to be packed to capacity. Only alternate seating is allowed. I feel a little strange, nevertheless I take the middle seat. My friends are here, yet they seem a bit far, still within an arm’s length distance. But amidst the shadow of social distancing, I am wearing a mask and am conscious of making no contact with anyone, not even with my friends. A bottle of sanitizer is pressed next to my seat. I quickly press the top and sanitize my hands, just to be double sure.

The movie is about to start… I remember all the latest movies I saw in my living room and none had been able to match the feeling I am getting right now. I had never understood what separated viewing a film on Netflix or Amazon as compared to viewing it in the cinema hall, until now…

I knew the theatre experience offered something more than the bigger screen and the Dolby sound.

I realize it is the excitement of actually going out, making an effort of reaching the theatres. The joy of finding so many people who also share the same excitement; it makes the viewing experience even more enriching. This was something evidently never visible on my smartphone screen. Everything was on demand, a split second decision and the next moment I was watching it. The ease of viewing it in my living room actually took away a bit of the satisfaction. I’ve missed this for so long. But something seems off here as well.

The movie starts not with a statutory warning implying that cigarettes causes cancer, instead it starts with an advertisement promoting social distancing, asking to make sure you were wearing a mask and you avoid touching any surfaces. ‘Ok, I get it‘ my mind exclaims. The more I do not try to be conscious and make it seem normal, the more difficult it becomes. It was the first time that both seats next to me were empty.

Sadly, I couldn’t hear people whistle, I couldn’t see them smile or laugh. I felt suffocated

The movie ends. But life doesn’t, it goes on. Watching a movie and getting immersed in that reality has always been the most profound experience and now a fundamental change has come into that reality. I will need to start living with this reality. As I walk out of the theatre hall with this thought, I suddenly hear a person cough. I look behind, my heart skips a beat and my pace increases…


I hope the post would have been an interesting read 🙂

Share your thoughts below in the comment section.

Connect with me on facebook : masoomv1

You can also reach to me on twitter : @masoomvyas

Leave a reply don't hold yourself back!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.