The void when a book comes to an end…

I’ve always felt that reading a book is like having an intimate relationship. It’s concealed, private, honest and genuinely satisfying. It’s a two way exercise. I reward the book with my time and the book gifts me back with its set of words and sentences. It also gives me a chance to get into a new reality and observe it, but it depends on me how deeper can I get lost in it. It’s like stepping out of the train and taking in the breath of your native city after months of longing, it’s like an earthly feeling that gives me immense joy in being a human.

But nothing lasts forever…

One day the book comes to an end, and with it, it takes away my chance to again ever be part of that unreal reality. Oh it’s painful and leaves a void within, which is unknowingly special due to it’s emptiness. The fact that it was never there in the first place but someday it was created when I began reading and then it got filled with absolute happiness… It makes me feel contended that I once experienced something so amazing, even though today it is only emptiness.

I am thankful that there are so many books to read that one lifetime can never be enough.

Today one book ends, tomorrow I begin a new one. The smell of a new book fills me with an intense energy. It excites me about the journey I am going to embark upon. There will be days when initially it will be struggle, where I will keep comparing the new one with the old one, but eventually the new reality will engulf me so deeply that I will fail to remember the older one. The void will get filled with a different but equally satisfying happiness!

I feel this is all so similar to meeting new people and making new friends. Each book has its own personality, that evolves as I go through the pages. The entire journey of the book shapes as I go through. It’s like those multiple interactions I have with people when I come to actually know them and understand that the book is completely different from its cover… Every book, just like every person adds a certain layer to my life, it has a defined purpose in my life. Each one teaches me something I am completely unaware about and helps me understand my own self even more clearly. But then one day the book ends, I have to part ways. I get along just fine with a void within, on a search, for a new book in the journey of my life ๐Ÿ™‚


Have you ever felt this way about a certain book you’ve recently read?

Do let me know in the comment section!!

Hit FOLLOW on the bottom of the page to receive my posts in your inbox!

Connect with me on facebook : masoomv1

Also follow me on twitter: @masoomvyas

4 thoughts on “The void when a book comes to an end…

  1. This entire post is #relatable! I often feel this way after I finish reading a book, especially after I was done with Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina. This was a wonderful piece, thanks for sharing! Do check out my blog as well, and I look forward to reading more of your work soon! Have a great night! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This happens to me almost everytime I finish a book. It takes me to a journey of unknown lands and people which later become familiar to me , though all in the imaginary world created in the mind. This oneness with the book is a beautiful experience itself. And as aptly put by you , it is very much similar to our life’s journey where we meet strangers , get to know them and eventually part ways to start another milestone in life.
    Wonderfully written Masoom Vyas. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply don't hold yourself back!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.